Traffic Sound's photos

Traffic Sound

Members of Traffic Sound: Freddy Rizo Patrón, Jean Pierre Magnet, Luis Nevares, Manuel Sanguinetti, Willy Barclay, Willy Thorne, Zulu (7)
You can find this performer (group) in the Internet by addresses:

Discography of Traffic Sound, all releases:

# Cover Release title Total tracks Type of release is Imprint date Label
1 Traffic Sound - Traffic Sound Traffic Sound 6 Audio 2007 Get Back
2 Traffic Sound - Traffic Sound Traffic Sound 7 Audio 2007
3 Traffic Sound - Lux Lux 10 Audio 2007
4 Traffic Sound - Virgin Virgin 10 Audio 2011 ViNiLiSSSiMO
5 Traffic Sound - Yellow Sea Years (Peruvian Psych-Rock-Soul 1968-71) Yellow Sea Years (Peruvian Psych-Rock-Soul 1968-71) 18 Audio 2004 Vampi Soul
6 Traffic Sound - Virgin Virgin 11 Audio 1970 Mag
7 Greatest Hits 18 Audio 1998 Discos Hispanos
8 Traffic Sound - Virgin Virgin 11 Audio 1970 MaG
9 Traffic Sound - La Camita / You Got To Be Sure! La Camita / You Got To Be Sure! 2 Audio 1971 Sono Radio
10 Virgin 8 Audio Repsychled
11 Traffic Sound - Traffic Sound Traffic Sound 7 Audio
12 Traffic Sound - Lux Lux 11 Audio 1997 Lazarus Audio Products

Psychedelic and Prog Rock band from Peru. Traffic Sound was a Peruvian rock band founded in 1967 by [a1721022] (vocals), [a1673586] (rhythm guitar), [a1673587] (sax), [a1673588] (Willy "Wilito" Barclay) (lead guitar), [a1673589] (bass) and [a1673591] (Luis "Lucho" Nevares) (drums). Freddy and Manuel had met in school and played in Los Hang Ten's. Freddy and his older brother Jose originally thought of founding "Traffic Sound". The name was chosen because of their penchant for a traffic light, placed as a souvenir in the attic of the Rizo-Patróns house, where they held their practices, after a wild night in Lima. After a year of continued rehearsals and private shows they tried their luck at Peruvian psychedelic emporium The Tiffany with great success and recorded his first album "A Bailar Go Go" in 1968 with label MAG. It contained versions of songs by The Doors, Cream, Jimi Hendrix, Iron Butterfly and The Animals. In later albums they included their own music with a fusion of Andean and Afro-Latin sounds. They held gigs in Peru, Chile, Argentina and Brazil. Their second album "Virgin" (1969), all original material, catapulted them to legendary status especially because it contains the absolute icon of Peruvian Psychedelia, "Meshkalina". In 1970 they recorded another LP named "Traffic Sound", aka. III, aka. "Tibet's Suzettes", where they blend the Psychedelic spirit with an Andean folk sound, and give the necessary step to be closer than ever to progressive rock. In 1971 Braniff International Airways organized the first South American Tour of a Peruvian band, and Traffic Sound was well received in demanding markets such as Argentina and Brazil. After the tour they switched to bigger label Sono Radio and released four singles. At this point Willy Thorne left the band and was replaced by [a1719456] or (Miguel Angel Ruiz Orbegoso) on bass, with whom they recorded their last LP, "Lux". Incredibly, during a massive strike of Sono Radio workers the master tapes disappeared and were only found in 1996. This album is different to the previous, the Andean influence is more evident and some political concerns were expressed. The band held a memorable concert at the Teatro Segura in Lima together with the Contemporary Orchestra of Peruvian jazz pianist Jaime Delgado Aparicio in 1971 and disbanded in 1972.